United States. HVAC field service management
Which is the best HVAC software for how you actually work?
Every comparison of this category ranks the same six products and almost none of them mentions the thing that decides your bill: these vendors do not charge for the same unit. One bills jobs a month, one bills bundled users, one bills a flat plan, one bills two kinds of seat and one bills technicians. We read all six pricing pages on 15 August 2026, and half of them do not carry a price at all.
| Option | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 A crew that is growing headcount faster than job count | Jobs a month, and explicitly not people. The pricing page states 'we don't charge per user!' and every paid plan carries unlimited users, which makes it the only vendor here whose bill does not move when you hire. | A genuinely free tier at $0 for 30 jobs a month and 1 user, then Starter $29 for 50 jobs, Growing $79 for 150, Premium $149 for 500 and Premium Plus $349 for 1,500 or more. | By job volume. Premium Plus charges 20c per job beyond its allotment, so the bill tracks work done rather than staff employed. The trap is the reverse of everyone else's: a small team doing many short jobs pays more here than a large team doing few big ones. | 14 day free trial, no credit card. The free tier also functions as an indefinite trial at 30 jobs a month. | No. It references trades and service contractors broadly, naming plumbing and gardening as examples. | States no lock-ins, and that you can upgrade and downgrade between plans at any time. The free tier charges 10c per SMS; paid plans include SMS free. A phone add-on starts from $19 a month with a one month free trial. |
| Kickserv A fixed crew size, where a bundled user count is the cheapest way to buy | Users, sold in bundles rather than per seat. Start is 5 users, Run is 10 and Scale is 20, so the effective per user price falls as the bundle rises. | Start, $60 a month for 5 users, which is $12.00 a user. Run is $119 for 10 users ($11.90 each) and Scale $199 for 20 ($9.95 each). | Cleanly, and cheaply, provided you fill the bundle. Buy Start for two people and you are paying $30 a head. The saving between the smallest and largest bundle is only about 17% a user, so this is a flat curve rather than a volume discount. | Free for 30 days, the longest published trial among these six. | No. The pricing page names no trade at all. | Save 20% with an annual subscription. A Kickserv Kickback programme gives 5% off monthly fees for processing a minimum of $1,000 to $3,000 in online payments depending on plan. QuickBooks Desktop is a $50 a month add-on. No onboarding fee is listed. |
| Housecall Pro Buyers who want the feature ladder priced in public and named for HVAC | A flat plan price. The published tiers do not specify how many users each includes, which is the one thing missing from an otherwise unusually open pricing page. | Basic at $59 a month billed annually, saving $20 a month against monthly billing. Essentials is $149 (saving $40) and MAX $299 (saving $30). | By feature rather than by size. Essentials adds routes, flat rate pricing, checklist automations, photo reports, employee GPS tracking, commissions and QuickBooks Online sync. MAX adds a sales proposal tool it values at $40 a month, recurring service plans, route optimization, open API access and a dedicated onboarding specialist. | 14 day free trial, no credit card required. | Yes. HVAC and electrical are both named as supported industries. | States no long term contracts and that cancellation is simple. No setup or onboarding fees are listed. Recurring service plans, which is how HVAC maintenance agreements are sold, sit on the top tier only. |
| FieldPulse Teams with a mix of office and field staff, if you are willing to ask for a number | Seats, of two kinds. The page states it is seat based with full access seats and limited field seats, which is the most precise charging model here and the only one that prices an office admin differently from a van. | Not published. Pricing is stated to be customized to team size and setup, with a custom quote in one conversation. | Unknowable from the page. Three tiers are named (Essentials, Professional, Enterprise) with features but no prices, and add-ons including Operator AI, Pricebook, Payments, Financing, Fleet Tracking and Custom Forms are priced per line or per license, so the quote has more moving parts than the tier. | None mentioned. | Yes, in its industry solutions, though not in its pricing tiers. | Not published. No onboarding fee or contract term is disclosed. |
| ServiceTitan Large multi-truck operations, if the implementation budget is already agreed | Technicians. The model is stated as per technician, which is the most expensive basis to be on if your office staff outnumber your vans. | Not published. Three tiers are shown (Starter, Essentials, The Works) with a Request Pricing button in place of a figure on every one. | Directly with headcount, by definition of the model. What that costs is not disclosed. | Not mentioned. | Yes, as a supported industry, though no trade specific tier exists. | Not disclosed. Implementation fees are not disclosed either, which for a platform of this size is the figure most likely to surprise a first year budget. |
| FieldEdge Established multi-truck contractors who want guided onboarding over self serve | Not published. The page states plainly that plans allow you to customize the software and add-ons based on the features you need, so pricing can vary. | Not published. Three tiers are named (Select, Premier, Elite) with no figure against any of them. | Not published. | None, and it says so and says why: it does not offer a free trial because it prefers guided onboarding. That is the clearest statement of philosophy on any of these six pages, and it tells you what kind of buyer it wants. | Yes. HVAC, plumbing, electrical, locksmith and appliance repair are all named. | All plans include an onboarding specialist. Downgrades are permitted only at the end of the current contract period, which is the only explicit contract term any of these six publishes, and it is a restrictive one. |
How we chose these, and how they are ordered
Six US field service platforms that name HVAC or are widely bought by HVAC contractors. Every figure was copied from the vendor's own pricing page on 15 August 2026; nothing comes from a review site, a listicle or a reseller.
Order runs by how completely you can price yourself before speaking to anyone: vendors publishing a full rate card first, then those publishing tiers without figures, then those publishing neither. That is a ranking of disclosure, which is checkable, not of product quality, which is not.
Where a vendor publishes nothing the cell says not published rather than carrying an estimate. Three of six vendors produce a lot of those cells, and that is the finding rather than a hole in our reading.
This table does not score features. Feature lists in this category are near identical on paper and diverge entirely in use, so the honest test is a trial on real jobs, and we say who offers one instead of pretending to have run six.
- ServiceM8 ServiceM8, US pricing
- Kickserv Kickserv, pricing
- Housecall Pro Housecall Pro, pricing
- FieldPulse FieldPulse, pricing
- ServiceTitan ServiceTitan, pricing
- FieldEdge FieldEdge, pricing
HVAC Software Picker is an independent site operated by Ellul Solutions Ltd. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to any software vendor named here, and nothing on it is contractual advice. We take no commission from any vendor in this comparison and carry no paid placements. Prices, tiers and terms change without notice: every figure carries the date we read it on the vendor's own page, and the figures that decide a first year budget, notably implementation fees and contract length, are mostly not published at all.
Want quotes priced for your crew and job volume?
Tell us your headcount and roughly how many jobs a month you run. Those two numbers decide which charging model suits you, and vendors that fit will quote you directly.
What US HVAC field service platforms bill you for, 2026
Last updated
Every comparison of this category lists monthly prices side by side as though they measured the same thing. They do not. This table records the UNIT each vendor charges for, which is what makes two headline prices comparable or not.
Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 15 August 2026, cited in full below. A cell states what the vendor publishes; where a vendor publishes nothing the cell says not published, which is a statement about its page on that date rather than a claim the product lacks the capability. Prices for Housecall Pro are its published annual figures, which is how that page presents them, and are therefore lower than its monthly rate by the $20 to $40 a month it states. Kickserv per user figures are derived by dividing its published bundle price by its published user count and are marked as a range. Nothing else here is derived: no averages, no estimates and no vendor-supplied figures we could not read ourselves.
| Vendor | Billed by | Cheapest published | Users included | Cost of growing | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 | Jobs a month | $0 for 30 jobs | Unlimited on all paid plans | 20c per extra job | 14 days, no card |
| Kickserv | Bundled users | $60 for 5 users | 5, 10 or 20 by plan | $9.95 to $12.00 a user | 30 days |
| Housecall Pro | Flat plan price | $59 a month annually | Not specified | n/a, feature tiers | 14 days, no card |
| FieldPulse | Seats, full and field | not published | not published | not published | none mentioned |
| ServiceTitan | Technicians | not published | not published | not published | not mentioned |
| FieldEdge | Not published | not published | not published | not published | none, stated explicitly |
- Six US HVAC field service platforms bill for four different units: jobs, users, seats and technicians.
- Three of six publish no price at all, showing a Request Pricing button or a custom quote offer instead.
- ServiceM8 is the only vendor of the six that does not charge per user, giving unlimited users on every paid plan and billing job volume instead.
- Published entry prices run from $0 a month at ServiceM8's free tier to $60 at Kickserv, a band far narrower than the four different units behind them.
- Only one vendor of the six, FieldEdge, publishes a contract term, and it permits downgrades only at the end of the current contract period.
Cite this page
“What US HVAC field service platforms bill you for, 2026”, HVAC Software Picker, https://hvacsoftwarepicker.com/ (updated 2026-08-15). Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 15 August 2026, cited in full below. A cell states what the vendor publishes; where a vendor publishes nothing the cell says not published, which is a statement about its page on that date rather than a claim the product lacks the capability. Prices for Housecall Pro are its published annual figures, which is how that page presents them, and are therefore lower than its monthly rate by the $20 to $40 a month it states. Kickserv per user figures are derived by dividing its published bundle price by its published user count and are marked as a range. Nothing else here is derived: no averages, no estimates and no vendor-supplied figures we could not read ourselves.
Straight answers
What is the best HVAC software?
It depends on what you want to be charged for, because these vendors do not sell the same unit. Of six US platforms read on 15 August 2026, ServiceM8 charges by jobs a month and states it does not charge per user, Kickserv charges by bundled users from $60 for 5, Housecall Pro charges a flat plan from $59 a month annually, FieldPulse charges by seat, and ServiceTitan charges by technician. FieldEdge does not publish a model at all. The cheapest of them changes with your ratio of jobs to people.
How much does HVAC software cost a month?
Published entry prices we could read on 15 August 2026 ran from $0 to $60. ServiceM8 has a free tier for 30 jobs a month and 1 user, then $29 for 50 jobs. Housecall Pro's Basic is $59 a month billed annually. Kickserv's Start is $60 a month for 5 users. Top published tiers reach $299 at Housecall Pro and $349 at ServiceM8. ServiceTitan, FieldEdge and FieldPulse publish no figure.
Which HVAC software has a free trial?
Kickserv offers 30 days, the longest of the six. Housecall Pro and ServiceM8 both offer 14 days with no credit card required, and ServiceM8 additionally runs a permanently free tier at 30 jobs a month for one user. FieldEdge states it does not offer a free trial because it prefers guided onboarding. ServiceTitan and FieldPulse do not mention one.
Why will some HVAC software vendors not show prices?
All three that decline are aimed at larger multi-truck contractors selling a configured product. ServiceTitan shows a Request Pricing button on each of its three tiers. FieldEdge states that pricing can vary with the features and add-ons you choose. FieldPulse states pricing is customized to team size and setup. The practical cost is that you cannot line them up against each other without running three separate sales processes.
Does HVAC software charge per user or per technician?
Both models exist and a third does not charge for people at all. ServiceTitan charges per technician. Kickserv charges for bundled users at 5, 10 or 20. FieldPulse charges per seat and splits full access seats from limited field seats, which is the only model here that prices an office admin differently from a van. ServiceM8 explicitly does not charge per user and gives unlimited users on every paid plan, charging for jobs instead.
Which HVAC software handles recurring maintenance agreements?
Every platform here can record recurring work, but where it sits in the price ladder differs and that is the part that catches maintenance-led firms. Housecall Pro places recurring service plans on its top MAX tier at $299 a month rather than on Basic at $59, so a firm whose business is service agreements cannot buy the entry plan. Test generation of next year's visits during a trial rather than assuming it.
Do these platforms integrate with QuickBooks?
Yes, and the version you run changes the price. Kickserv includes QuickBooks Online on its Start plan and charges $50 a month extra for QuickBooks Desktop. Housecall Pro puts QuickBooks Online sync on Essentials at $149 a month, not on Basic at $59. If your bookkeeper is on Desktop, that single fact can decide which plan and which vendor you are actually buying.
Sources
Compare the unit, not the headline price
Six US HVAC platforms, the four different things they bill you for, which three will not publish a price, and who lets you trial it on real jobs first.